h1

Free fertile farmland!

November 19, 2008

I’ve said for quite a while that if you want to build a factory, unless it’s particularly noxious, you can probably get free land, or equivalent in benefits, from any number of economic development organizations.  Turns out that the same can be true for farmland.

You, or I, couldn’t do it, but Korean conglomerate Daewoo can, 1.3 million hectares (that’s half the size of Belgium, says FT), in Madagascar.  Apparently this is an above-board legitimate deal, and Madagascar “will simply gain employment opportunities.” Daewoo doesn’t get fee title, but a 99-year lease.  The produce will for the most part be shipped to Korea.

4 comments

  1. […] « patents + taxes = insanity squared Madagascar update June 7, 2009 Last fall I mentioned a deal between Korean conglomerate Daewoo and the gov’t of Madascar, for the former to get […]


  2. Hmm it seems like your website ate my first comment (it was super long)
    so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your
    blog. I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to the
    whole thing. Do you have any tips and hints for
    rookie blog writers? I’d definitely appreciate it. http://www.xtpzz.com/


  3. Good article. I’m dealing with some of these issues as well.. http://blogs.rediff.com/gracieheighway2/2016/12/29/nine-ways-driving-games-will-improve-your-sex-life/


  4. We’re a gaggle of volunteers and opening a new scheme in our community.
    Your web site provided us with valuable info to work on. You have done an impressive job and our entire neighborhood will likely be thankful to you.



Leave a Reply

